Joy

There’s a moment of stillness when I’m outdoors
its cloudy, but there is light shining through
I notice how timeless everything is
my friends’ laughter,
the sound of birds,
How temporary it all is

a gentle gust of wind
swoops upward
past me
past everyone and everything
rustling the grass affectionately,
lifting up my spirits

it carries with it
some birdsong
nostalgia
as it rises up towards the trees
(they sway gently)

I want to chase that wind,
want to run across that field
through the rustling sea of grass in front of my house
I want to let cheer because it’s a beautiful day and i’m happy to be alive
and right here

This won’t last forever,
I’m sure,
So I concentrate as hard as I can
to store those memories away.

Leave a Reply

