What I’m Reading & World Thinking Day

It’s been a while since I’ve written here. I guess it’s just hard to stick to a routine.

Anyway, I’ve been doing some reading lately, but I wish I had recess because I have to use up lunch time to find a book, which only works if I can walk in, grab a book and walk out. It doesn’t work like that. I need time to hunt and pick just the right one.

I’m doing alright in that way. Using my one fiction and one nonfiction choice, I am currently reading a book about vaccines and Death Note.

Since this was originally a Girl Scout blog, it would be worse if I never mentioned it at all compared to hardly. A few weeks ago we had World Thinking Day, where different groups picked a country to research and would present what they found to the others along with making a food from that country. (Sounds good right? Wrong. The presentations are usually not good because there is no grade motivation and troops meet only once a week or so. I told my troop leader that we were probably very likely to misrepresent their culture and that would make me feel bad. She laughed and told me just to do our best and not to worry.)

This year my group chose Turkey, and had Turkish Delight as our food. It used gelatin, rose water, pink food coloring, and powdered sugar to make a syrup covered jelly. It was alright when eaten in a small cube, but was so sickly sweet that I wonder how that kid in Narnia could have taken it from a stranger so easily.

That’s all for now.

 

Leave a Reply

